Skip to content
Join our Newsletter

In Historic Midterms, New Yorkers Elect James as State's First Woman Attorney General

Not a surprise, the Democrats defended their stronghold in New York State during the 2018 midterm election.
Tish James, BK Reader
NY Attorney General-Elect Tish James with Re. Yvette Clarke, Councilmembers Alicka Ampry-Samuel and Robert Cornegy. Photo credit: Tish James/ Twitter

New York State, a Democratic stronghold, may not have been the most exciting place for voters to cast their ballots in the 2018 midterm election on Tuesday. But they nonetheless made history when they elected Public Advocate Tish James to become New York State's first woman attorney general and the first African-American woman to hold a state-wide office come January.

"This is a night for justice, a night for our future," said James. "It's a great night to be a New Yorker, and a great night to be a Brooklynite. At a time, when we are seeing such vitriol and hate on the national level, led by someone who is supposed to be a voice for all Americans, I am proud to stand here as a New Yorker who knows that it's our diversity, our strength, our courage and our determination that makes us great."

While it was not a wave, the blue current undeniably remained strong in New York.

Senator Kirsten Gillibrand
Senator Kirsten Gillibrand. Photo credit: Senator Kirsten Gillibrand

U.S. Senator Kirsten Gillibrand successfully thwarted off Republican challenger Chele Farley and U.S. Representatives Nydia Velazquez, Hakeem Jeffries and Yvette Clarke all defended their seats with decisive wins.

"Democrats take back the House! Healthcare is alive and well. And the fight for our future continues," tweeted Jeffries.

As expected, Governor Andrew Cuomo defeated Republican challenger Marc Molinaro handily which secured also another term for Lt. Gov. Kathy Hochul who he split the ticket with. Cuomo thanked New Yorkers for the trust they have placed in him for the third time, but also targeted Trump and his "divide-and-conquer" politics.

"I am proud of the statement New York has made, especially in light of what's going on nationwide," said Cuomo. "Today's election made clear that New York is not buying what President Trump is selling. He uses fear and division to separate Americans. He demonizes diversity, and we celebrate it."

Other positions that were on the ballot included NY State comptroller, state senators and assemblymembers. No surprises here, as all incumbents held on to their seats with the exception of Senator Jesse Hamilton, who was defeated by progressive challenger Zellnor Myrie during the primaries.

"I am so honored to be representing the community that raised me and made me the man I am today,"  tweeted Myrie. "I look forward to.ighting for all of you in Albany as your next state senator!"

See all the 2018 midterm election results below, including a list of all candidates and their party affiliations — Democrat (D), Republican (R), Green Party (G), Reform Party (RP), Libertarian ((L), Conservative (C), Independent (I) and Other (O).

U.S. Senate

Kirsten Gillibrand (D), 3,713,708 votes (64.41 %)

Chele Farley (R), 1,876,324 votes (32.54 %)

Rep/ Velazquez, Jeffries, Clarke, BK Reader
U.S. Representatives Nydia Velazquez, Hakeem Jeffries and Yvette Clarke (l-r).

U.S. Congress

7th Congressional District (including Bushwick and East New York): 

Nydia Velazquez (D), 135,226 votes (89.17 %)

Joseph Lieberman (C), 7,980 votes (5.26 %)

Jeff Kurzon (RP), 1,596 votes (1.05 %)

8th Congressional District ( including Bedford Stuyvesant, Brownsville, East New York, East Flatbush, Clinton Hill, Fort Greene): 

Hakeem Jeffries (D), 166,470 votes (88.01 %)

Ernest Johnson (C), 9,510 votes (5.03 %)

Jessica White (RP), 963 votes (0.51 %)

9th Congressional District (including Brownsville, Crown Heights, East Flatbush, Flatbush, Prospect Heights): 

Rep. Yvette D. Clarke (D), 162,242 votes (87.38 %)

Lutchi Gayot (R), 19,169 votes (10.32 %)

Joel Anabilah-Azumah (RP), 682 votes (0.37 %)

Cuomo, Hochul, BK Reader
Governor Andrew Cuomo and Lt. Governor Kathy Hochul. Photo credit: Politico

Governor / Lieutenant Governor

Andrew M. Cuomo/ Kathy Hochul (D), 3,329,139 votes (57.82 %)

Marc Molinaro/ Julie Killian (R), 2,081,137 votes (36.15 %)

Howie Hawkins/ Jia Lee (G), 95,157 votes (1.65 %)

Larry Sharpe/ Andrew C. Hollister (L), 90,593 votes (1.57 %)

Stephanie Miner/ Michael J. Volpe (I), 51,068 votes (0.89 %)

New York State Attorney General

Letitia James (D), 3,397,485 votes (59.61 %)

Keith Wofford (R), 1,960,679 votes (34.40 %)

Michael Sussman (G), 65,916 votes (1.16 %)

Christopher B. Garvey (L), 40,757 votes (0.72 %)

Nancy Sliwa (RP), 23,784 votes (0.42 %)

New York State Comptroller

Thomas P. DiNapoli (D), 3,663,401 votes (64.33 %)

Jonathan Trichter (R), 1,748,781 votes (30.71 %)

Mark Dunlea (G), 63,210 votes (1.11 %)

Cruger Gallaudet (L), 32,009 votes (0.56 %)

State Senator Roxanne Persaud, State Senator-Elect Zellnor Myrie, State Senator Kevin Parker (l-r).
State Senator Roxanne Persaud, State Senator-Elect Zellnor Myrie, State Senator Kevin Parker (l-r).

State Senate District 19 (East New York and Brownsville)

Roxanne Persaud (D), votes (%)

Jeffrey J. Ferretti (R), votes (%)

State Senate District 20 (Brownsville, Crown Heights, East Flatbush, Prospect Heights)

Zellnor Myrie (D), 65,356 votes (87.90 %)

Jesse Hamilton (I), 5,204 votes (7.00 %)

State Senate District 21 (East Flatbush and Flatbush)

Kevin Parker (D), 85,380 votes (93.42 %)

Brian Kelly (C), 2,658 votes (2.91 %)

Assemblymembers Rodneyse Bichotte, Latrice Walker and Charles Barron (l-r).
Assemblymembers Rodneyse Bichotte, Latrice Walker and Charles Barron (l-r).

State Assembly District 42 (East Flatbush and Flatbush)

Rodneyse Bichotte (D), 26,817 votes (87.66 %)

Matthew Williams (R), 2,173 votes (7.1 %)

Anthony Beckford (G), 631 votes (2.06 %)

State Assembly District 55 (Brownsville and Bedford Stuyvesant)

Latrice Walker (D), 25,804 votes (94.99 %)

Bernada Jackson (R), 460 votes (1.69 %)

State Assembly District 60 (East New York)

Charles Barron (D), 26,963 votes (91.76 %)

Leroy Bates (R), 799 votes (2.72 %)

Horrie Johnson (C), 399 votes (1.36 %)

For a complete list of all election results please go here.

Please note that State Senators Julia Salazar (D) of the 18th District, Velmanette Montgomery (D) of the 25th District, as well as Assemblymembers Diana Richardson (D) of the 42nd District (D), Maritza Davila (D) of the 53rd District, Tremaine Wright (D) of the 56th District and Walter Mosley (D) of the 57th District were unopposed and therefore not listed in our overview.