Skip to content
Join our Newsletter

Eric Adams, Antonio Reynoso Declare Victory in Primary Election, Along With Slate of BK Council Candidates

Eric Adams and Antonio Reynoso top their races after BOE updates unofficial results.
collage (40)
Associated Press has called Eric Adams as the winner of NYC’s Democratic Primary for Mayor.

Brooklyn Borough President Eric Adams won the Democratic primary election for mayor, the Associated Press declared on Tuesday night after the Board of Elections (BOE) released an updated vote tabulation.

Although Tuesday night's results show Adams led Kathryn Garcia by just 1%, and final results aren't expected until next week, Garcia conceded to Adams on Wednesday morning.

"While there are still some very small amounts of votes to be counted, the results are clear: an historic, diverse, five-borough coalition led by working-class New Yorkers has led us to victory in the Democratic primary for mayor of New York," said Adams, who's expected to easily defeat Republican nominee Curtis Sliwa in the general election.

City Councilman Antonio Reynoso looks likely to succeed Adams as borough president, having won 54.8% of the vote.

On Tuesday, BOE reported preliminary results that included tens of thousands of absentee ballots. And although election officials aren't expected to release final vote counts until July 12 -- and barring unforeseen counting errors -- the leaders in this latest tabulation won their City Council races. In June, BOE's vote-counting error caused confusion about the primary election results in the City's first ranked-choice voting election.

After 11 rounds of counting, Reynoso, who currently represents parts of Williamsburg and Bushwick in the City Council, won 54.8% of the vote. His closest rival, Assemblymember Jo Anne Simon, earned 45.2%.

"Our campaign was always about building a Brooklyn for all of us — no matter your race, your background, or what zip code you live in — and I'm so honored by the support that brought us to this victory today," Reynoso said in a victory statement.

Reynoso tweeted on Tuesday, after Simon conceded the race, that he looks forward to continuing to work with her.

Reynoso, who would be Brooklyn's first Latino borough president, declared himself the winner days before these latest results. 

He was far from alone.

Chi Ossé, a Crown Heights activist, declared on July 2 that he won the City Council's 36th District contest.

"The amount of people that told this queer 23 year old queer college dropout that he couldn't do this…this win goes out to y'all xoxo," he tweeted.  

Hours before Tuesday's updated tabulation, Crystal Hudson also declared victory in her City Council District 35 race. 

"Our lead has only grown since election night, and I'm so proud to announce our victory in this race," said Hudson, who would be the first openly gay Black woman elected to the City Council.

Here are the unofficial winners in City Council Districts BK Reader covers:

City Council District 34

Williamsburg, Bushwick

Jennifer Gutierrez 79.5%

Scott Murphy 8.5%

City Council District 35

Fort Greene, Clinton Hill, Crown Heights, Prospect Heights, Bedford Stuyvesant

Crystal Hudson 54%

Michael Hollingsworth 46%

City Council District 36

Bedford Stuyvesant, Northern Crown Heights

Chi Ossé 56.9%

Henry Butler 43.1%

City Council District 37

Cypress Hills, Bushwick, City Line, Ocean Hill, Brownsville, East New York

Sandy Nurse 65.3%

Darma Diaz 34.7%

City Council District 40

Crown Heights, East Flatbush, Flatbush, Kensington, Midwood, Prospect Park, and Prospect Lefferts Gardens

Rita Joseph 59.6%

Josue Pierre 40.4%

City Council District 41

Bedford-Stuyvesant, Ocean Hill-Brownsville, East Flatbush, Crown Heights

Darlene Mealy  57.3%        

Alicka Ampry-Samuel 42.1%

City Council District 42

East New York, New Lots, Remsen Village, Spring Creek, Starrett City

Charles Barron 53.7%

Nikki Lucas 46.3%

City Council District 45

Flatbush, East Flatbush, Midwood, Marine Park, Flatlands, Kensington

Farah Louis 75.4%

Anthony Beckford 19.8%

About the Author: Nigel Roberts

Read more